We Were Liars by E. Lockhart | Review

wewereliars__140612011956

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Genre: YA. Contemporary, Mystery
Pages: 225
Format: Hardcover
Source: Goodreads 

“A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.True love.The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it. And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.”

Rating: starstarstar

This is the kind of book that makes it hard for you to love the characters, or even feel any kind of connection. I usually can’t stand books with characters that I don’t relate to, but this was a totally different story.
I can understand why some of the reviews are so bad,and how people can feel frustrated and talk about “rich kids problems”. A huge part of the book makes you think like that. The turning point is when you get to the end, and everything turns around and you start feeling sorry for those kids that you didn’t care about, and sorry about all the families that have to go on without love. It’s a heart-breaking, one-sitting-reading, sobbing-at-the-end kind of book. And totally worth it.

Stars given:

  1. The plot twist. This book is ALL about the plot twist and nothing else. It took my breath away and I literally had to close the book, stop venting and focus, in order to pick it up again. It’s the kind of twist that makes you go back and reread those pages over and over again to see if you got it right. Unbelievable.
  2. The setting. Who’s able to resist a book set in a private island? Even more when you read it in the summer. The discription of the houses, the beach, the ocean, and even the little path that goes aroung the island made me feel like I belonged there with them, and now I’m dreaming in search of my own private little beach of retreat.
  3. Reality. The way this book doesn’t paint it pretty like every other YA novel makes you become part of the story, in a way. A rich family with rich people problems that annoy you since the beggining. For many this would be a con, for me it’s a pro because it shows that not everything has to be sugar-coated in order to give us real feelings.

Stars taken:

4. Writing. The writing style is totally not up my alley. The author tried, once again, too much. It was pretentious, boring, and frankly irritating. Please

write

normally

again.

5. The characters. For the first time in my life there wasn’t a single character in this book that I can say I liked and connected with. They were all so flat (except maybe for Cady) and annoying. And the romance killed me. I’m always up for a cheesy teenager love story but this was an attempt on “Wuthering Heights”- Rich-girl-loves-poor-boy romantic plot that totally failed.

 

One thought on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart | Review

  1. I hate it when you can’t relate to the characters too. It’s really difficult to read about characters when you don’t really care about them. But lord knows I love twists in my stories 🙂 Also if an author can turn it around and make you feel for these characters, it’s a good sign. This is making me wanna go and read it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

